MAY 9, 1996

RALEIGH -Nineteen Department of Correction employees were honored Thursday as Correctional, Probation and Parole Officers of the Year.

These officers are admired throughout the department because of their integrity, dedication, and professionalism, Correction Secretary Franklin Freeman said during a Thursday reception honoring the officers. "I commend the officers and their colleagues for doing their demanding job in an excellent manner."

In a proclamation naming May 5-11 Correctional, Probation and Parole Officers Week in North Carolina, Gov. Jim Hunt said, Officers must act as counselors, communicators, and experts at crisis management. They possess the intuitive sense to resolve conflicts and to restrain persons representing a danger to themselves or others.

Correctional Officers of the Year include Randall J. Duell, Brown Creek Correctional Institution; Alvin R. Ingram, Neuse Correctional Institution; James R. Sanderson, Robeson Correctional Center; Theophilus G. Barry, Caswell Correctional Center; Walter E. Taylor, Wilkes Correctional Center; William R. Gray, Greene Correctional Center; David L. Williams, Iredell Correctional Center; Marshall A. Hudson, Central Prison; and Terry R. Lowe, Morrison Youth Institution.

Probation and Parole Officers of the Year include Melverleen Y. Wilson, Durham County; Katherine C. Horne, Columbus County; Bruce Crouse, Chatham County; Phyllis Leary, Wilson County; James O. Parker, Carteret County; Wayne J. Kinney, Forsyth County; Phillip R. Cheek, Randolph County; David L. Smith, Surry County; Alan A. Laughter, Rutherford County; and Janet M. Crump, Burke County.

Certificates were presented to the 19 officers at a ceremony held in the Governor's press conference room at 2:30 p.m.