N.C. Department of Correction--Correction News--May 1998

Chaplain at Gaston Selected as Volunteer of the Year

RALEIGH — Alan Carpenter, chaplain of the Gaston Correctional Center was selected as the 1997 Volunteer of the Year for the Division of Prisons during an awards luncheon held April 22.

The chaplain at Gaston Correctional Center for almost 32 years, Carpenter has continually and faithfully carried out his responsibilities as a community volunteer, volunteer chaplain and member of the Community Resource Council.

"I really don’t know what we would do without him," Gaston Superintendent J.V. Cauble said. "Mr. Carpenter is invaluable in serving in so many areas here at Gaston."

As chaplain, Carpenter heads up all religious activities and plans, coordinates and directs the activities of three assistant volunteer chaplains. He leads worship services, conducts Bible studies, teaches seminary extension courses, counsels inmates and staff, provides transportation, secures food and funds and assists families.

"Mr. Carpenter is to be commended for his many years of dedicated and committed service to the Department of Correction," Secretary Mack Jarvis said.

Carpenter was one of 23 volunteers nominated for this year’s award. Others recognized during the luncheon included Douglas Haas Bennett, North Carolina Correction Institution for Women; Agnes (Bunny) Bobak, Black Mountain Correctional Center for Women; Jasper Lee Sexton, Neuse Correctional Institution; Ernestine D. Meadows, Marion Correctional Institution; Mary Alice Wesley, McCain Correctional Hospital; Dolores Clarke, Currituck Correctional Center; Douglas Allen Gibbs, Hyde Correctional Center; Richard Lee Holland, Carteret Correctional Center; Robert S. Dowd, Wake Correctional Center; Richard Frankhouser, Sanford Correctional Center; Marcus Deryl Odom, Johnston Correctional Center; Scottie Sue Barnes, Alexander Correctional Center; Janet B. Caligan, Forsyth Correctional Center; Ann A. Williamson, Alamance Correctional Center; John C. Atkins, Haywood Correctional Center; Raymond O. Munger, Sr., Catawba Correctional Center; Keith Adam Bailey, Polk Youth Institution; Ruthie M. Johnson, Sandhills Youth Center; Rev. Paul Murphy, Morrison Youth Institution; Florence Ann Jones, Hoke Correctional Institution; Allen Junior Jones, Hoke Correctional Institution; and Aaron Williams, Caledonia Correctional Institution.

More than 6,000 individuals give time each day serving as volunteers throughout the Division of Prisons. In 1997 alone, 6,640 volunteers donated more than 298,294 hours of their valuable time helping others in the prison system.

The annual Volunteer of the Year Awards Program strives to honor these volunteers and recognize their outstanding contributions to the department. u

NC DOC Correction News- May 1998
NC Department of Correction News
NC Department of Correction Homepage