NC Dept of Public Safety logo   North Carolina Department of Public Safety

NC State seal

North Carolina
Michael F. Easley, Governor           Theodis Beck, Secretary

For Immediate Release
December 12, 2001
Contact: Keith Acree
             (919) 716-3727

Department of Correction honors Caldwell as Employee of the Year

RALEIGH – Correction Secretary Theodis Beck today honored Ola Caldwell of Foothills Correctional Institution in Morganton as the Department of Correction’s Employee of theYear. Caldwell is a Morganton resident and an administrative secretary at the 712-bed high-security prison.

Caldwell is active in many programs inside the prison and in her community. At work, she participates in volunteer appreciation activities, fundraising for the Special Olympics and serves on the Foothills Fitness Committee.

In her community, Caldwell volunteers at Grace Hospital, where she operates the gift shop and serves as a member of the Grace Hospital Guild. 

Ola Caldwell and Secretary Theodis Beck

She is a member of the Red Cross board of directors and serves as team captain for the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life. She also serves the United Way and is a recipient of the 2001 Governor’s Award for Excellence.

The following Department of Correction employees were also recognized as nominees for Employee of the Year:

Division of Community Corrections

Sherri Cook District 22 - Davie County
Robin Elliott District 29 – Rutherford County
Randy Hussey District 19B – Moore County
Glenn Mills Division 1 – Greenville
Jack Morrison District 22 – Iredell County
Katrina Porter District 7 – Edgecombe County
Denise Smith District 20A – Richmond County
Allen Stallings District 7 – Wilson County

Division of Prisons

William Anderson- Craggy Correctional Center – Asheville
Johnnie Carswell -  Foothills Correctional Institution – Morganton
James Clare, DDS - Dental Services – Raleigh
Harry Davis Morrison - Youth Institution – Hoffman
Wayne Grant - Pamlico Correctional Institution – Bayboro
Treena Greene - Craven Correctional Institution – Vanceboro
Mark Honhart - Franklin Correctional Center – Bunn
Elvin Hundley - Avery-Mitchell Correctional Institution – Spruce Pine
Larry Hupp - Dan River Prison Work Farm – Yanceyville
Owen Jones - Avery-Mitchell Correctional Institution – Spruce Pine
Robert McAfee - Buncombe Correctional Center – Asheville
Terry Owens, Judy Wise and Donna Biddix -  Marion Correctional Institution – Marion
Frank Porczi - Pender Correctional Institution – Burgaw
Timothy Scott Rice - Craggy Correctional Center – Asheville
Lena Sudduth - Foothills Correctional Institution – Morganton
Teresa Thomas - Caswell Correctional Center – Yanceyville
Virgil Varrone - Marion Correctional Institution – Marion
Sandra Young - North Piedmont Corr. Center for Women – Lexington

Editors: For photographs or additional information on the nominees, please contact the DOC Public Information Office at 919-716-3727.

# # #

DPS | Adult Correction | Prisons | Community Corrections | Correction Enterprises | ACDP | News | Offender Info | Contact
© 1995-2012 North Carolina Department of Public Safety. All rights reserved.