NC Dept of Public Safety logo   North Carolina Department of Public Safety

Michael F. Easley

NC State seal

Theodis Beck

North Carolina Department of Correction

For Release: IMMEDIATE Contact: Keith Acree
Date: April 23, 2004 Phone: (919) 716-3700

Harriet Jennings names prison Volunteer of the Year

Harriet JenningsRALEIGH Ė Correction Secretary Theodis Beck and the North Carolina Division of Prisons have named Harriet Jennings of Raleigh as the prison volunteer of the year.

Jennings has been a volunteer at Raleigh Correctional Center for Women since 1998.  Since she is retired, Jennings makes volunteering at the minimum-security womenís prison a full-time commitment. She serves as the program coordinator for the prisonís education and worship center and as a sponsor for inmates on community leave. 

In addition, Jennings is very active in the prisonís JobStart program, which prepares inmates for employment after release from prison.  She recruits, trains and mentors other JobStart volunteers and helps JobStart inmates coordinate transportation, education and housing.

Jennings is also instrumental in seeking funding for inmate educational expenses not provided by the prison system.  Jennings was one of 20 volunteers nominated for this yearís award. Others nominees include:

Robert Lee Clinkscales                          Pasquotank Correctional Institution                     Elizabeth City
William Franklin Cole                             Odom Correctional Institution                             Tillery
Mary Desharnis                                     Orange Correctional Center                               Hillsborough
Gabriel Desharnis                                  Orange Correctional Center                               Hillsborough
Charles N. Gancer                                 Sampson Correctional Institution                        Clinton
Lawrence Carroll Gardner                      Rutherford Correctional Center                          Spindale
Ronald  Gutkowski                                 Pamlico Correctional Institution                          Bayboro
Robert Hines                                         Nash Correctional Institution                              Nashville
Darrell Holloway                                   Wilkes Correctional Center                                Wilkesboro
Revonda Keller                                     Fountain Corr. Center for Women                      Rocky Mount
Leslie Keller                                         Fountain Corr. Center for Women                      Rocky Mount
Bernard King                                        Harnett Correctional Institution                         Lillington
John Orum                                           Sanford Correctional Center                             Sanford
Jeffrey Pickles                                      Hoke Correctional Institution                            McCain
Rev. Theodore Spearman                     Piedmont Correctional Institution                       Salisbury
Kristie Fisher-Stanford                         Morrison Correctional Institution                       Hoffman
Rev. Joseph Staton                               Wayne Correctional Center                              Goldsboro
Teresa Tatham                                      Black Mountain CC for Women                       Black Mountain
Particia Vess                                        Avery-Mitchell Correctional Institution              Spruce Pine

For more information on a prison volunteer star from your area, contact the DOC Public Affairs office at 919-716-3700.

# # #

North Carolina Department of Correction
Public Information Office     4202 Mail Service Center     Raleigh NC 27699-4202
Phone (919) 716-3700      Fax: (919) 716-3795

DPS | Adult Correction | Prisons | Community Corrections | Correction Enterprises | ACDP | News | Offender Info | Contact
© 1995-2012 North Carolina Department of Public Safety. All rights reserved.