NC Dept of Public Safety logo   North Carolina Department of Public Safety

Michael F. Easley

NC State seal

Theodis Beck

North Carolina Department of Correction

For Release: IMMEDIATE Contact: Keith Acree
Date: May 14, 2002 Phone: (919) 716-3727

Department of Correction Honors Officers of Year

APEX Twelve correctional officers from across the state were honored as Department of Correction Officers of the Year during a ceremony held today in Apex.

The 12 were selected from more than 10,000 correctional officers who work for the department. The officers were recognized for various accomplishments, ranging from acts of heroism to initiating projects to improve operations of prison facilities and supervision of offenders.

During the ceremony, Correction Secretary Theodis Beck expressed the importance of the jobs correctional officers do. "Each officer plays a critical role in preserving public safety, and we all owe them a debt of gratitude," said Secretary Beck. "To the officers being honored today, and to all those who work across the state every day, I say thank you for a job well done."

The officers honored and their work locations are:

Roger B. Weber - Hoke Correctional Institution, Raeford
Michael Todd Cooper  - Morrison Correctional Institution, Hoffman
David Clark Cassady  - Caswell Correctional Center, Yanceyville
Angela Denise Powell  - Caledonia Correctional Institution, Tillery
Essex Lazzlo Hester  - Polk Youth Institution, Butner
Debra B. Walser  - Southern Correctional Institution, Troy
Elmer Reagon Macopson  - Marion Correctional Institution, Marion
Timothy W. Kerley - Catawba Correctional Center, Newton
Christine W. Hinnant - Wayne Correctional Center, Goldsboro
Michael Ray Harbin - Pender Correctional Institution, Burgaw
David Gilbert Schram - IMPACT East, Hoffman
Garrett R. Robinson - IMPACT West, Morganton

Editors: Individual releases about each officer and digital photos are available from the Public Information Office.

Public Information Office
4202 Mail Service Center
Raleigh NC 27699-4202
(919) 716-3700  Fax: (919) 716-3795
Pamela Walker

DPS | Adult Correction | Prisons | Community Corrections | Correction Enterprises | ACDP | News | Offender Info | Contact
1995-2012 North Carolina Department of Public Safety. All rights reserved.